Wednesday, 25 September 2013

2013 Faraday Medal recipient: Professor Sir Michael Pepper FREng FRS

Professor Sir Michael Pepper, Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London, UK, has been awarded the Faraday Medal for pioneering the basic and applied physics of advanced semiconductor structures. Building on his use of devices for investigating electron transport in disordered systems, he pioneered the physics of semiconductor nanostructures introducing techniques now used worldwide in proposed quantum information systems.

Sir Michael was the founding Managing Director of Toshiba Research Europe, Cambridge, which he attracted to the UK, and he started the extremely successful quantum communications programme. 
He co-founded the company TeraView which uses semiconductor devices to generate terahertz radiation and has pioneered new, unsuspected, applications of the radiation in medicine, security and industrial process control; he is the Chief Scientific Director at TeraView.

Sir Michael has been associated with many of the major themes of condensed matter physics; was one of the three authors of the first paper announcing the discovery of the quantum Hall effect and with his group he developed the techniques of electrostatically modifying a 2D electron gas to form 1D and 0D systems with many associated discoveries, such as quantisation of the conductance of ballistic 1D electrons.

Sir Michael was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1983 and a Fellow of Trinity College in 1982. He has been awarded the Hughes Medal and the Royal Medal of The Royal Society and the first Mott Medal of the Institute of Physics, as well as the Guthrie (Gold) Medal and the Europhysics Prize of the European Physical Society. He received a knighthood in the 2006 New Year's Honours list for services to physics and has received honorary degrees and given named lectures including the Mountbatten Memorial Lecture of the IET and the Royal Society's Bakerian Lecture.

Sir Michael will be presented with his Medal at the President’s Address on 3 October 2013 at the Royal Institution

More information can be found here